What leads one to write a story whose subject matter, content, style, and imagery seem completely foreign to the facts and experiences of one’s daily life? I don’t know. When I sit down to write my fiction a sort of transformation takes place — I’m still me but things flow differently inside somehow and I take control of that flow and direct it but at the same time yield to it and later, rereading the thing, wonder what happened. At any rate, what follows in the second excerpt from “The Moping Man” occurs late in the story, just before the end that connects the back cover  to the beginning. A third excerpt will soon follow to show the character’s motivations.

Don’t forget to scroll down to see the first excerpt.

Leave a Reply

